He brought me out

I waited patiently for the LORD; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry. He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings.  And he hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the LORD.  Psalms 40:1-3

Have you ever been in a pit?  All you can see is darkness and there’s no light.  You feel all alone even though there are people all around you, but there is a wall that separates you from them.  You cry out God where are you as you go through the  motions of your days.  Day in and day out you are in this pit.  You want to escape, but there is no way out of it.  So you sit and you wait.  But in your waiting you seek the Lord.  You pray anyhow even though it seems like your prayers bounce off the walls.  You search the scriptures looking to read a word from God to hold on to.  Just as quickly as you went into the pit, one day you find yourself out of it.  Thank you Lord, I’m out of the pit.

6 thoughts on “He brought me out

  1. What a word! The pit is no joke, but I’m smiling
    as I climb out, I love the feel of the Lord’s
    hand guiding me out.

  2. God’s word is the light in darkness in all of ours situations. Just like God was in the Loins den with Daniel, He will be with us in our pits of life. The word of God give us HOPE in darkness. The word says “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart and lean not to thine our understanding”(Proverbs 3:5). We may not understand why we are waiting but wait on the Wait. They that wait on the Lord shall renew there strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; they shall walk, and not faint(Isaiah 40:31).

  3. Somedays it is more than just a pit – it feels like a burning ring of fire and not Johnny Cashes version either. It is very true that all of a sudden one day God in His time, the Right time changes our circumstances all to His Glory. Think about it. Would you really understand His greatness if God bowed to our whinning? For me, I know I would not apprecitate Him. I take a look back at all of the troubled times and see why He made me wait. Glory and Honor are His and His alone.

  4. I haven’t been that bad yet but I have been close, especially with some of the men I have dealt with in earlier and younger days. But God also changed my circumstance and i saw the light. He has blessed me and has brought light into my life when I was down. Sometimes I had to wait, but God has never failed me in my hours of need.

Leave a Reply

