Enlarge my coast

And Jabez was more honourable than his brethren: and his mother called his name Jabez, saying, Because I bare him with sorrow. And Jabez called on the God of Israel, saying, Oh that thou wouldest bless me indeed, and enlarge my coast, and that thine hand might be with me, and that thou wouldest keep me from evil, that it may not grieve me! And God granted him that which he requested.– I Chronicle 4:9-10

Have you ever felt like you were in a box? It seem like you would take one step, and then it looked like you were going back two steps. This sounded like the story of Jabez. Because when his mother was birthing him, she went through a lot of pain, and she named him pain. Can you imagine your name was pain? It sounded in this passage of scripture that his life was a pain too. But Jabez turned to God in his situation and by praying to him, he asked God to change his life around by blessing him and giving him favor. He also asked him to increase his border and keep him from evil. The most wonderful thing happened, God answered his prayer! Think about it, if God answered Jabez, can you believe he would answer you? (But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him. –Hebrews 11:6)

3 thoughts on “Enlarge my coast

  1. Faith – that is the key. Jabez reminds me to remain faithful and prayerful. God does answer prayer and he may not always answer in the way we expect, but he is faithful! Praise the Lord!

Leave a Reply

